Whole bean Horizonte DUAL – Colombia • Ethiopia

THE COFFEE

This coffee is named Dual because a Colombian coffee and a Ethiopian coffee make an excellent intercontinental combination together.

You may have already tried our Traditional coffee from Gerardo Franco – it’s a traditional Colombian espresso, roasted to perfection. By blending our Traditional coffee with Ethiopian beans we’ve created Dual, a coffee that offers more fruitiness and acidity.

THE PRODUCER

GERARDO FRANCO #1

Horizonte had an opportunity to visit Gerardo and his family in April 2018. Gerardo’s farm is located in the steep, remote mountains above the Colombian town of Anserma, and can only be reached by a 4x4 vehicle. The views from Gerardo’s farm are breathtaking – looking out over Anserma (which itself is perched on a mountain ridge) as well as over the Cooperative Gerardo works with.

It was Gerardo’s father who originally bought this land, and who realised the potential for growing coffee in such fertile soil and with a favourable climate. After he passed away, the eight siblings split the land among themselves.

Perhaps you’re wondering how Horizonte finds farmers like Gerardo? In Colombia, we work closely with Valentina Duque from Siruma Coffee, and it was Valentina who recommended Gerardo, both for his exceptional coffee and the outstanding way he cares for the environment while also providing for his family.

During our visit, we discovered that Gerardo was in desperate need of his own post-harvesting facility. He was sharing the existing one with his brother down the road, which meant a huge amount of extra work carrying beans back and forth. In addition, their de-pulper was 20 years old and hand-operated. It seemed logical for Horizonte to help out by contributing to a new post-harvesting station to be built on Gerardo’s property. Horizonte wants to nuture long-term relationships with farmers like Gerardo, and re-investing in our partners helps to create sustainable value for both parties.

As you can imagine, Traditional is a “micro lot” coffee, with just 8000 trees planted on the slopes above Gerardo’s house. Gerardo farms with help only from his family and a pair of pickers during the two main harvest seasons. No chemical fertilisers are used.

Gerardo’s post-harvesting process consists of 16 hours of fermentation, three separate washes to remove all floaters (overripe beans), followed by air-drying for a few weeks (depending on weather conditions).

Horizonte bought all of the coffee from Gerardo’s most recent harvest, which was a great scoop for us (and something we aim to repeat) and which in turn allowed Gerardo to plan his financials for the coming months.

WOTE KONGA MILL #2

Thanks to our partnership with Schluter/Olam Coffee, we’re able to share this Ethiopian coffee from the Yirgacheffee region with you.

Over the years, Yirgacheffee – featuring some of the most sought-after micro lots in the world – has developed a distinguished reputation for fine coffees.

The pre-eminence of Yirgacheffee coffees owes as much to the area’s high altitude, fertile soil and consistent rain as it does to the deep local knowledge of the growers and farmers.

The varietals from Wote Konga Mill are endemic to Ethiopia and underpin the unique flavour which is characterised by strong citric acidity, sweet chocolate undertones, and floral and herbal notes.

At Wote Konga, the coffee cherries are fermented in water for between 36 and 48 hours, depending on weather conditions. After being graded by bean density, they are sun-dried on African beds for 12-15 days until the ideal moisture content has been achieved. The coffee is covered for protection from the harsh midday sun, and again at night to avoid exposure to dew or rain.

Once the beans have been suitably dried, they are transported to Addis Ababa for dry-milling, intensive sorting and are then bagged for export.

 
Whole bean Horizonte DUAL – Colombia • Ethiopia

CHF14.00

Nobody has posted a review yet

Fruity, chocolate, citrus, crispy acidity.

HORIZONTE-DUAL-BEAN

100% secure payment

Free delivery and returns

Live chat 9h-17h / Mon-Fri

Characteristics
  • GrindBeans
Reviews 0

SECURE PAYMENTS
Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Postfinance, Paypal, Bitcoin, Twint Wire transfer

FREE DELIVERY
Orders greater than CHF 50 receive 24/48H delivery

FREE RETURNS
You have 30 days to return your order for free

EXPRESS CUSTOMER SERVICE
We answer your questions Monday to Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Kaffee ganze Bohne Horizonte DUAL – Kolumbien • Äthiopien

DER KAFFEE

Dieser Kaffee bezeichnen wir als Dual, da ein kolumbianischer und ein äthiopischer Kaffee eine ausgezeichnete interkontinentale Kombination ergeben.

Manche haben vielleicht schon unseren «Traditional» Kaffee von Gerardo Franco ausprobiert - es ist ein kolumbianischer Espresso, perfekt geröstet. Durch die Kombination unseres «Traditional» Kaffees mit äthiopischen Bohnen haben wir den Dual entwickelt, einen Kaffee, der eine klasse Fruchtigkeit und Säure bietet.

DIE PRODUZENTEN

GERARDO FRANCO #1

Wir von Horizonte hatten im April 2018 die Gelegenheit, Gerardo und seine Familie zu besuchen. Gerardos Farm liegt in den steilen, abgelegenen Bergen oberhalb der kolumbianischen Stadt Anserma. Man kommt nur mit einem Allradfahrzeug zu ihm hinauf. Die Aussicht von Gerardos Hof ist atemberaubend - mit Blick auf Anserma (das sich auf einem Bergrücken befindet) sowie auf die Kooperative, mit der Gerardo zusammenarbeitet.

Es war Gerardos Vater, der das Potenzial für Kaffeeanbau in diesem fruchtbaren Boden und mit diesem günstigem Klima erkannt hat. Nach seinem Tod teilten die acht Geschwister das Land unter sich auf.

Wie machen wir Kaffeebauern wie Gerardo ausfindig? In Kolumbien arbeiten wir eng mit Valentina Duque von Siruma Coffee zusammen. Es war Valentina, die Gerardo empfohlen hat. Er beeindruckte uns wegen seines außergewöhnlichen Kaffees, seiner umweltschonenden Verarbeitung und wie er für seine Familie sorgt.

Bei unserem Besuch stellten wir fest, dass Gerardo dringend eine eigene Nachernteeinrichtung braucht. Er teilte sich eine solche Maschine mit seinem Bruder, wodurch die Bohnen hin und her transportiert werden mussten. Außerdem war der Depulper 20 Jahre alt und handbetrieben. Für Horizonte schien es logisch, eine neue Ernteverarbeitungsmaschine mitzufinanzieren, die direkt auf der Farm von Gerardo aufgestellt wird. Horizonte legt großen Wert auf langfristige Beziehungen zu Kaffeebauern wie Gerardo – und durch solche Investitionen werden nachhaltige Werte für beide Parteien geschaffen.

Gerardos kleine Plantage ist ein „Micro Lot“ - Kaffee. Auf den Hängen oberhalb von Gerardos Haus sind nur 8000 Bäume gepflanzt. Gerardo arbeitet mit seiner Familie und zwei Pflückern während der zwei Haupterntezeiten. Es werden keine chemischen Düngemittel verwendet.

Gerardos Nachernteprozess besteht aus 16 Stunden Fermentation, drei separaten Waschvorgängen zur Entfernung aller «Floaters» (überreife Bohnen) und anschließender Lufttrocknung für einige Wochen (je nach Wetterbedingungen).

Horizonte kaufte den einen großen Teil von Gerardos jüngster Ernte auf. Das war für uns ein Glückstreffer, den wir gerne wiederholen möchten – und gleichzeitig ermöglichte es Gerardo, seine Finanzen für die kommenden Monate zu planen.

WOTE KONGA MÜHLE #2

Dank unserer Partnerschaft mit Schluter / Olam Coffee können wir diesen äthiopischen Kaffee aus der Region Yirgacheffee in unserem Sortiment anbieten.

Yirgacheffee ist berühmt für Spezialitätenkaffee: Der Geschmack ist das feine Ergebnis aus der Höhenlage, dem fruchtbaren Boden, dem konstanten Regen der Region, und dem generationenübergreifenden Wissen der Landwirte und Landwirte.

Die Sorten der Wote Konga Mühle sind typisch für Äthiopien, und die Bohnen unterstreichen den einzigartigen Geschmack aus Citrus, süßen Schokoladentönen sowie blumigen und pflanzlichen Noten.

Bei Wote Konga werden die Kaffeebohnen je nach Wetterbedingungen zwischen 36 und 48 Stunden in Wasser fermentiert. Nachdem sie nach Bohnendichte eingestuft sind, werden sie 12-15 Tage auf afrikanischen Trocknungsbetten sonnengetrocknet, bis der ideale Feuchtigkeitsgehalt erreicht ist. Der Kaffee ist mittags zum Schutz vor der harten Mittagssonne und nachts abgedeckt, um die Bohnen vor Feuchtigkeit und Regen zu schützen.

Wenn die Bohnen getrocknet sind, werden sie zum Trockenmahlen und intensiven Sortieren nach Addis Abeba transportiert und anschließend für den Export verpackt.

 
Kaffee ganze Bohne Horizonte DUAL – Kolumbien • Äthiopien

14,00 CHF

Nobody has posted a review yet

Fruchtig, Schokolade, Zitrusfrüchte, gute Säure.

HORIZONTE-DUAL-BEAN

100% sichere Bezahlung

Kostenlose Lieferung und Rückgabe

Live Chat: 9h-17h / Mo-Fr

Eigenschaften
  • MahlartBohnen
Bewertungen 0

SICHERE BEZAHLUNG 
Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Postfinance, Paypal, Bitcoin, Twint, Banküberweisung

KOSTENLOSE LIEFERUNG
Ab einem Einkaufswert von CHF 50.- Lieferung 24/48H

KOSTENLOSE RÜCKGABE
Sie können Ihre Bestellung innerhalb von 30 Tagen kostenlos zurückgeben

EXPRESS KUNDENDIENST
Schnelle Antworten von 9h bis 17h von Montag bis Freitag